Bangla Tigers announce first retentions and direct signings

The Tigers have retained Matheesha Pathirana and Mohammad Amir for the upcoming season.

Evin Lewis
Evin Lewis. (Photograph Supply: Abu Dhabi T10)

After 5 profitable editions, the Abu Dhabi T10 League is all set to return for the sixth season of the event, which shall be performed from 23rd November to 4th December. Forward of the identical, Bangla Tigers have introduced their retentions on Wednesday, August 24.

The Tigers, who’re but to win the title, have retained Matheesha Pathirana and Mohammad Amir for the upcoming season, entire they’ve additionally signed Evin Lewis and Colin Munro, the 2 highly effective left-handers, into their aspect. Whereas Lewis has been signed as a Platinum participant, Munro is part of Class A.

A mixture of younger and skilled gamers for Bangla Tigers

Pathirana rose to the limelight when he represented Sri Lanka within the U-19 World Cup. The then 17-year-old is claimed to have clocked a supply at 175 kmph, which is technically the quickest so far, however it was later discovered that the identical occurred resulting from a velocity gun error. Nonetheless, the 19-year-old younger pacer is popularly known as Junior Malinga for his bowling motion and methods.

Mohammad Amir, then again, is rather more skilled as in comparison with Pathirana. Having made his debut in 2009, the 30-year-old was banned for 5 years in 2010 by the ICC. However he has had a prolific cricketing profession. Although he has been lacking from the worldwide setup for fairly a while, he’s frequently seen enjoying the league-based tournaments for Pakistan and likewise was part of the T20 Blast this season.

Evin Lewis, who was beforehand part of the Delhi Bulls, will now be seen within the Bangla Tigers colors. The left-handed Trinidadian has additionally been part of the Karnataka Tuskers and Punjabi Legends within the earlier editions, and the upcoming season shall be his fourth general. However, the 35-year-old Munro, who beforehand represented Crew Abu Dhabi, will now be part of the Tigers.

Supply hyperlink